Tags

, , , , , ,

As our blog followers know, I was bowled over by a book I read recently, A Good Home by Cynthia Reyes (one of five must do’s for the month of July); I was lucky to connect with Cynthia by phone and have afternoon tea with her (virtually! See our blog post of July 6).

I still can’t stop thinking about the book; every know and again a passage floats into my mind and I start to think … .  One such passage is Cynthia’s conversation with her neighbour Vito – at the beginning a one-sided conversation with Vito doing the talking and then … and then … I started to hum a popular song.

“You’ve got to accentuate the positive, eliminate the negative.” The music was written in 1944 by Harold Arlen with lyrics by Johnny Mercer. The song explains that accentuating the positive is key to happiness. In describing his inspiration, Mercer said in a radio documentary at the time, “I went to hear “Father Divine” and his sermon was ‘you got to accentuate the positive and eliminate the negative.’ And I said ‘Wow, that’s a colorful phrase!'” Mercer recorded the song, on October 4, 1944, and it was released by Capitol Records and went to become a great hit.

This conversations with Vito from a Good Home led me to think about how I can stay positive in a largely negative world.

Here are some thoughts that came to mind:

Be playful

Think big/expect miracles  …. just perhaps big dreams will come true

Have fun

Count your blessings

Sing happy songs

Stop the world at 4:00 p.m. sharp and have a cup of tea

Take a tourist day where you live and visit a new gallery, a new tea room

Move the furniture around in your front room

Bedtime prayer – say goodnight to your deity and thank him/her for the day’s blessings

Send a comment and let us know how you accentuate the positive in yor life.

